You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.


Mr. Per Westerberg

Speaker of the Riksdag

Per Westerberg was elected as Speaker of the Riksdag after the parliamentary elections in the autumn of 2006.

Between 2003 and 2006 Per Westerberg was First Deputy Speaker. As deputy speaker he led an initiative to strengthen and develop the Riksdag's EU activities. The new work procedures were introduced on 1 January 2007.

In the Riksdag, Per Westerberg has also been chair of the Committee on Industry and Trade and of the Committee on Environment and Agriculture, as well as deputy chair of the Committee on Transport and Communications. He has been a member of the Riksdag Board since 2002 and chair of the Board as Speaker. Per Westerberg has been a member of the Riksdag for the Moderate Party since 1979.

In 1991-94 under the non-socialist government he was Minister for Industry, Employment and Communications. He has been spokesperson for the Moderate Party in issues relating to industrial policy, growth and business, as well as immigration and social insurance. He was a member of the Moderate Party Executive between 2002 and 2007.

Per Westerberg has a background in the business sector. He has worked for SAAB Scania and has been a member of the board of several companies, of Södermanland County Administrative Board and of the National Post and Telecom Agency. He has also taken part in a number of government inquiries.

Per Westerberg is a graduate of the Stockholm School of Economics.

Ms. Hillevi Engström

Swedish Minister for International Development

Hillevi Engström is the Swedish Minister for International Development. In 1983 she received a Degree from the Swedish National Police Academy, Ulriksdal. She completed studies in law, labour market issues and education at Stockholm and Örebro Universities.

She was elected as a Member of the Riksdag in 2002. Prior to becoming Minister for International Development Cooperation in 2013, she was Minister for Employment (2010-2013), Spokesperson for the Moderate Party on gender equality issues (2009-2010), and Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on the Labour Market (2008-2010).

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin

Executive Director of UNFPA

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin is the fourth Executive Director of UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund, and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Before this appointment, he served as the Minister of Health of Nigeria. Prior to that position, he was the Director-General of the Nigerian National Agency for the Control of AIDS, which coordinates all HIV and AIDS work in a country of more than 150 million people.

Dr Osotimehin is medical doctor, a member of the United Kingdom’s Royal College of Physicians and was, between 1996 and 1997, a visiting fellow at the Harvard Centre for Population and Development Studies. He was appointed as a Professor at the University of Ibadan in 1980 and headed the Department of Clinical Pathology before being elected as Provost of the College of Medicine of the same university in 1990. He held the position until 1994.

Dr Osotimehin’s interests include youth and gender, within the context of reproductive health and rights.

Baroness Jenny Tonge

President, European Parliamentary Forum on Population and Development (EPF)

Baroness Tonge was Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament for Richmond Park in London from 1997 to 2005. In June 2005 she was made a life peer as Baroness Tonge, of Kew in the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames, which entitles her to a seat in the House of Lords. She was elected President of the European Parliamentary Forum on Population and Development (EPF) in mid-2013.

Ms. Ulrika Karlsson

EPF Executive Committee member and Chairperson of the Swedish Parliamentary SRHR Intergroup

Ulrika Karlsson has been a member of the Riksdag since 2006 and is Chairman of the Swedish Parliamentary SRHR Intergroup.

Within the moderate parliamentary group, she has responsibilities regarding the Middle East and North Africa, Democracy and Human Rights.

In Parliament she has assignments concerning EU Affairs and Foreign Affairs. She represents parliament internationally and is vice chairman of the parliamentary delegation to the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU).